#B.Band: Cage the Elephant

Cage the Elephant

L to R: Guitarist Brad Shultz, Bassist Daniel Tichenor, Lead Singer Matt Shultz,Drummer Jared Champion,Guitarist lincoln Parish.

Formerly ‘Perfect Confusion’ the band Cage the Elephant hail from Bowling Green Kentucky. They were signed to EMI in 2007 after their South by Southwest showcase, shortly after moving to London, England.

Some of their influences are The Beatles, The Ramones, Nirvana,  The Rolling, Stones, Check Berry, Led Zeppelin, and the Pixies. (I sense some other rap like influences.) In One Ear, was the single that had me aware of their existence.

In One Ear – Cage The Elephant

Now I know I’m not a saint,
I been a sinner all my life,
I ain’t tryin to hide me flaws,
I’d rather keep them in the light,
They wanna criticize, scrutinize,
Cast another stone,
Burn me at the stake and sit and watch it from their throne,
They say the devil is my pal,
I do a lotta drugs!
The crowd will only like me if they’re really fuckin’ drunk,
They think they know my thoughts,
But they don’t know the least,
If they listened to the words they’d find the message tucked beneath

But it goes In One Ear,
And right out the other,
People talkin shit even though they never bother,
It goes In One Ear,
And right out the other,
People talkin’ shit, they can kiss the back of my hand…

Let ‘Em Know

S.

One thought on “#B.Band: Cage the Elephant

Leave a Reply

